Skip to main navigation Skip to main content Skip to page footer



Welcome to the Department of Theology of the School of Theology of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece.

You are truly welcomed to an unparalleled journey to theology and religious studies offered by our historic School of Theology at Greece's premier institution of higher education and research, also ranking among the top 200 universities worldwide.

The Department of Theology came out of the old School of Theology which initially had only one Department. By law 1268/1982 two departments were created; the Department of Theology and the Pastoral Department which was renamed in 1994 to Department of Social Theology and 2019 to Department of Social Theology and the Study of Religion. 

Manifold are the services of the Department of Theology to Science, to the Church and to the Greek society. In a BA 4-years program (240 ECTS) laymen and clergy acquire the necessary knowledge and develop the skills required to become RE teachers and creative scientists in terms of research and of teaching religion (Certification of Pedagogic and Teaching Competence is granted).

The Department educates members of the Church (clergy, laymen and monks) too so that they can meet the obligations that come with filling various positions not only in the Church but also in other aspects of public life. Many Patriarchs and Archbishops as well as numerous bishops in the Orthodox Church all over the world belong to its graduates.

All Programs of the Department constantly evaluated by the HAHE (Hellenic Authority for Higher Education) according to the Greek legislation and the Quality Assurance Policy of the University (see )

According to the recently published QS (Quacquarelli Symonds) World University Rankings by Subject, for the year 2023 (subject Theology, Divinity and Religious Studies), the School of Theology of NKUA is placed in the position 101-140.